Skip to main content

May 2013

EKU Students Claim 8 of 23 Newspaper, Public Relations Internships Offered through Kentucky Press Association

Eastern Kentucky University students have claimed eight of the 23 newspaper and public relations summer internships offered by the Kentucky Press Association.

Scholar Athlete: Ashley Edmond

Ashley Edmond

Communication Studies junior Ashley Edmond was named Offensive Player of the Year for the EKU volleyball team.

Edmond, along with her team mates, received their honors and recognitions at the annual team awards banquet.


Scholar Athletes: Sean Hagen and Shaun Ball

Hagen and Ball pose with awards recipients

Construction Management junior Sean Hagen and Communications senior Shaun Ball earned first team All-OVC honors for Colonel Baseball.  They were among six Eastern Kentucky University baseball players who earned recognition for their s

Hansen participates in "Words in a Changing World" panel

 "Words in a Changing World" graphic
Department Chair Liz Hansen and alumni John Nelson and Laura Cullen Glasscock will be among the panelists at a one-day conference Wednesday titled "Words in a Changing World: From Bradford to Bloggers," which will explore the future of the written word.

Scholar Athlete: Patrick Ford

Patrick Ford (#63, on right in photo)

Construction Management graduate Patrick Ford (#63, on right in photo) is one of two football Colonels named to the 2013 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

KCA to award five $1,000 scholarships to incoming AG freshmen

AG scholarship recipients

The Kentucky Cattlemen's Association Youth Scholarship will award five $1,000 scholarships to incoming college freshmen who plan to major in agriculture. 

Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation Scholarship requirements:

Hamon named President's Outstanding Senior, added to Points of Pride display in Whitlock Building

Kristina Hamon

Kristina Hamon (Journalism), distinguished senior for the College of Business & Technology, has also been named as the EKU President's Outstanding Senior. EKU President Doug Whitlock made the announcement at commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 11.

Jenkins 'capped' at Honors convocation

Tony Adams (left) with Jessica Jenkins

Ms. Jessica D. Jenkins, 2013 Distinguished Senior for EKU's Department of Applied Engineering and Technology, received her cap at the EKU Honors Convocation held recently in the Whitlock Student Success Building.


AAT faculty and staff participate in STEM-H Summer Camp

A summer camp at Eastern Kentucky University for gifted and talented students entering grades 6-8 will emphasize the STEM-H disciplines: science, technology, engineering, mathematics and health.

The sixth annual event, titled “Soar to the New Heights,” will be held June 24-28 at EKU’s state-of-the-art New Science Building.

Graphic Communications Management Team Wins Award in Phoenix Challenge

EKU Graphic Communications Management team

A team of Eastern Kentucky University Graphic Communications Management students won first place in the research category at the Phoenix Challenge: International Collegiate Flexo Skills Competition on April 27 in San Diego, Calif.

US Airlines to Face Pilot Shortage!

EKU Aviation fleet

According to an article from AOPA, written by Susan Carey, Jack Nicas, and Andy Pasztor, U.S. airlines are facing what looks to be their most serious pilot shortage since the 1960s. Federal mandates taking effect summer of 2013 will require all newly hired pilots to have at least 1,500 hours of prior flight experience.

Phoenix Challenge team wins first place in Capstone Presentations

Winning Capstone team with Dean Rogow (left)

EKU's Graphic Communications Management students, representing the Department of Applied Engineering and Technology, won first place at this year's Dr. Glen Kleine Capstone Presentations.

AAT Faculty Recognized at 2013 Critical Thinking Teaching of the Year Awards

Awards recipients pose for photo session

Congratulations to School of Applied Arts and Technology faculty, both full time and part time, who were nominated for the Critical Thinking Teacher Award:

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/